top of page
  • Writer's pictureViv

Wardrobe by Me Cargo shorts for men

Wardrobe by Me pattern company recently sent out a tester call for cargo shorts and because I enjoy sewing for the husband and I liked the look of the pattern I applied. Luckily, I was chosen to be one of the testers and away I went. The pattern features..."The design is packed with rugged details and spot on masculine proportions. Big side pockets, deep front pockets, back welt pockets and front fly with zipper. The back has darts and the waistline is faced and has belt loops." Christina also has a fly zip tutorial up on her blog for those that have never sewn one or maybe just need a refresher https://wardrobebyme.com/blogs/news/how-to-install-a-zipper-into-a-front-fly-cargo-shorts-pattern

We chose the version with the cargo pockets and without the seat reinforcement,

I was unable to find a twill that didn't have any stretch in it so we just went with it. The fabric is from Joann and I used cotton broadcloth for pockets and linings. I also used bias binding to finish the waistband facing. The pattern came together fairly easy, even though I had never done welt pockets. I won't lie, I was terrified to give them a go. However, between Christina's instructions and a little clarification as the other pattern testers went through their versions I was able to construct them easily enough. I think the hardest part was just wrapping my brain around them.












Above: bias tape finish on waistband facing


Right: back welt pockets





The rest of the shorts were a breeze to construct. Christina's instructions were clear and easy to follow. The sizing is based off of RTW (ready to wear) men's sizes and is pretty much bang on. The hubby has recently lost a lot of weight so I wasn't sure what his RTW size would be so I used the measurement chart and it fits great. He has a bit of a saggy bum in this pair but that is rectified easily enough in the next pair (and this one if I'm not too lazy). The front pockets were a little shallow at first but Christina took the input from her testers and made adjustments. I've never done a test quite like hers, but I really enjoyed it. She has a very thorough process and is very meticulous so that we end up with a very well drafted pattern that provides great features and will be something men will want to wear. Hubby has already asked for more and I have to say that I look forward to sewing them.


I would not say this is a beginner friendly pattern, but if you are adventurous and don't mind researching techniques then I'd say give them a try. Each pair you make will be better than the last and your skills will improve as well.


Front view

Back view without the seat reinforcement

This pattern is on sale for $10 (regularly $13) until July 7th. Be sure to check out the other tester's versions and grab your pattern while it's on sale!


~Viv

78 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page