top of page
  • Writer's pictureViv

Review of the Sonata dress by Love Notions

What more can I possibly say about this dress? If you haven't seen the reveal video up on my channel, check it out here https://youtu.be/et3Ap1iG9SY . I was asked to be an ambassador for the #handmadesummerdress challenge on Instagram and I happily agreed. For the challenge I decided to make the Sonata after seeing Karina's review of it. I was teetering between two other dress patterns but I just could not decide which I wanted to sew. Also, I had been watching all of Sian's gorgeous tropical prints and fell in love. Thus began the hunt for a tropical print in the U.S. that didn't cost my first born. I found it on So Sew English fabrics, not only was it stunning but it was affordable, woo! Once, I found the fabric I just could not make either of the dresses I had previously pegged and then I saw Karina's Sonata. SOLD!


The Sonata Dress by Love Notions

I chose to make a sleeveless version primarily because I only had two yards. The plus side of that was that it pushed me WAY out of my comfort zone in multiple ways. Firstly, I normally would never have chosen this type of print but I mean, its amazing so I had to. Secondly, I don't do sleeveless, like EVER. I am really, really glad I did. This print and this dress are a match made in heaven and I love wearing this dress.



Sonata dress, sleeveless. Size XL

The construction of this dress was very easy. I would advise anyone wishing to make it to check the size chart carefully and to also select the proper weight of interfacing. I chose a very lightweight interfacing and as you can see the neckline doesn't stand up as it should, it being a key feature of the dress. I think all told, this dress took me roughly two hours to sew and then I hemmed it the next day. The only other bit I would add is that the guide for the length of elastic specific to the size you are sewing is on PAGE 5, it is a teeny tiny rectangular box that I overlooked several times. You can see the back of the dress here.

Back view of the Sonata dress

I really love this dress and I've already ordered more fabric for another and I am really looking forward to adding it to my wardrobe. I hope you enjoy this review and if you have any questions, just shoot me a message.


Enjoy,

~Viv

203 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page