top of page
  • Writer's pictureViv

Burda 6602 for Him

I know like many of you I struggle with finding a balance with my sewing time. I really enjoy sewing for my family but I often find that I just end up sewing for myself. Well, with our recent weight loss, hubby is in desperate need of tees. So I found Burda 6602 a couple of months ago but didn't quite get around to sewing it up. I'm glad I did wait thought because once I watched the review of it from The Stitch Sisters I found that I would need to size down a fair bit for my man.


This is the first time I've ever sewn a Burda pattern. I have always been put off by the magazine patterns so I never even wanted to attempt it. However, hubby is a manly modern guy so the patterns from the Big 4 just weren't going to cut it. There is a decided lack of men's sewing patterns out there, which is a shame and I hope some crafty people sort that out soon.



Fabric: Navy is from Art Gallery and the Grey is from Girl Charlee
Burda 6602, View B without the pocket

After comparing the size chart and the finished garment measurements I decided to go down two sizes from what they recommend and I'm glad I did. Hubby was looking for a slim fit and that is exactly what he ended up with. I think the fit is really good through the shoulders and body, and the length is perfect.


I have a confession though. I took one look at the directions and tossed them on the floor. They have you sew one shoulder seam then leave the other open to put the neckband on and then set in the sleeves. I simply refuse to do set in sleeves on a knit pattern. It is so much easier to insert them flat and faster in my opinion.



The grey sleeves were a happy accident. I thought one yard would be sufficient to get a tee for him, but it needed just a bit more. I had this grey cotton & spandex from Girl Charlee in my stash which worked perfectly with the navy from Art Gallery. This Art Gallery knit is the most amazingly soft knit and I now understand why its a little more expensive, it is totally worth it. Needless to say, I will be buying more of it when I can get my little paws on it!



Hubby really loves his new tee, so much so that he is wearing it every opportunity he gets. Yep, you guessed it, I'll be making more. I have ordered and received more fabric for two more tees for him. Overall, the pattern is a good one. Do be sure to check the size guide against the finished measurements that are located on the tissue paper itself. I hope you make this for your fellow, son, nephew or yourself (it's a unisex pattern!) soon. I'd love to see it if you do so tag me on Instagram @_stitchesandseams_


Enjoy,

~Viv

58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page