top of page
  • Writer's pictureViv

The Turner Dress

The Turner dress by Cashmerette is a wonderfully stylish, yet simply constructed dress. I have made this dress five times now, but only twice for myself. I thought I wasn't a "dress person", turns out, I am. I found the floral Liverpool fabric that I used in Dallas, in the little "fabric warehouse" district. If you are ever in Dallas, you should definitely stop by, you'll be in for a treat! I decided to go for the short sleeve version this time because the fabric is more of a spring/summer print than autumn/winter, and it is hot in Texas this time of year.


I made a massive mistake, but thank goodness for online sewing friends! Sometimes when I make a mistake (especially with a fabric I'm in love with) my brain just shuts down and I cannot think of how to rectify the situation. All I can hear in my head is "that beautiful fabric! AAAAHHHHH!" Luckily, I have cultivated online friendships with wonderful women who are quite capable of thinking on the fly. I spoke with Karina, from Lifting Pins and Needles on youtube )https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC2kL6RgBMYqRXjOKrH1GK8w). She is so incredibly talented and knowledgeable when it comes to sewing. You should absolutely check her out, you will learn so much from her. Anyway, onto my major mistake. If you don't know, Cashmerette drafts with multiple cup sizes, which is amazing for us bustier ladies. Well, apparently I was not paying attention and cut out a larger cup size, E/F. I still don't know how I managed it but I did. So Karina suggested taking in the front bodice piece only by a half of a inch, a few inched above and below the waist. It worked perfectly and saved the dress because ya know, I was still in paper bag breathing mode.


This has turned out to be my favorite Turner, I think mainly because of the fabric, but nonetheless I absolutely love it. This is a very simply constructed dress and easily doable for a patient beginner. Jenny's instructions are fantastic, clear and very detailed. So don't be afraid to try it, do it, you'll be so glad you did!


~Viv

50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page