top of page
  • Writer's pictureViv

Appleton dress by Cashmerette

I recently made the Appleton dress by Cashmerette and I must say it is love.



I made the Appleton as part of my #dayandnightdresschallenge that was hosted by Elizabeth from the blog elizabethmadethis.com This was the dress I chose for my cocktail dress. I have been meaning to make it for some time but I hadn't managed to get to it, it was on my #makenine last year. I am so glad I finally got around to it, with a nudge from my lovely sewing internet friend, Laquana. At the time I measured at an 18 C/D cup, I made a straight size 18 but I went up to a E/F cup for a bit more coverage in the bust. Cashmerette also has a sew-a-long for the the Appleton (https://blog.cashmerette.com/2015/10/appleton-sew-along-day-1.html) in case you would like more of a visual aid or have additional questions. I read through it and the pattern instructions and dove in. This dress comes together quickly and easily. The only area that may give people trouble is the bust/neck band where it attaches at the back neck. It doesn't seem like it should fit because it's smaller than the bodice. However, that is to keep the garment close to the neck and keep it from gaping. So, you may want to baste that in if you think it doesn't look right. Seam ripping knit fabric isn't any fun at all. I highly recommend this pattern, it is very flattering on a variety of body shapes and has the potential to make you feel like a million bucks.






The fabric is and ITY knit from Joann and I almost passed it over but I couldn't find anything that I fell in love with so I decided to go with it. I went out that afternoon and purchased the fabric, came home and laundered it, then cut it all out. I sewed it up the next afternoon. My husband was kind enough to take some photos for me and he made me look pretty good, thanks babe!




I think the Appleton would be suitable for the office, coffee or a night out, and the best part is that it's like secret pajamas. That's a bonus and gets extra points from me. I hope you try it out and I'd love to see your versions.

~Viv





22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page